27 February 2022

Update

"What an arsehole! Doesn't update the bloody website until two months later!!"

Yes, yes, I hear you, my great Jarate-fans, Choplings, what have you. As all things seem to go by with this twisted mind, I get far too distracted from working on things. I suppose you could think of this as my "Two Months Off." Who knows, I may even continue to put off more updates for this site for another two months! Just watch me!

If you haven't noticed by now, I now have an animating background for the website that I teased back in December. While it's not perfect (I understand that it is probably hard to read some of the text not on another background), I am going to continue adjusting it in the coming days so that it can be a bit more pleasing without straining everybody's eyes. I wanted to make the background ultimately move like Mega Man 8's does, infinitely in one direction at a consistent pace, but I believe that (without adding a bunch of arbitrary code) I cannot get such to work. Unless if someone wants to DM me on Twitter and tell me how to be a good web designer, I'm just going to keep it as is, maybe adjust the pace it moves at the most.

What took me so long to implement it? Nothing really. Yeah. Pretty much right after I posted that last update, I had it ready, but I just gave up on any and all things "productive." I got a new job within that time, but it was nothing that should have prevented me from working on any creative endeavors. No, I think it was just another "art" block kicking in, as it typically goes. It seems to have spread to other endeavors I had planned throughout the year as well.

Perhaps a major issue of mine is putting too much on my plate at once. "Oh that sounds like fun! I think I'll try that too. Yeah, why not that as well?" While this may spoil some of my future projects (I am pretty much the only one reading this), I have discovered the unlikelihood of me making a series of videos, making a video game, making music, learning another language, watching shows I've missed out on, and playing games I've had in my backlog, all the while working on this site, giving enough attention to my job, and getting outside to touch grass every now and then (though winter would like to disagree on that one). I must burn myself out too much, because I find myself feeling disgusted at the thoughts of doing things I enjoy on a consistent basis now. I'm at the point to where I don't know what to do besides look at the wall or ceiling, because even something passive like listening to music sounds disgusting. I haven't listened to much new in the past year, to be honest, which bothers me. Whereas I discovered so many artists throughout the course of 2017-2020, I have remained mostly stagnant in 2021 and 2022. Listening to new music gave me motivation to mess with my own instruments, which haven't been touched in months and are covered in dust.

I apologize for the whiplash of emotions on this update, but I am just disgusting myself talking about it.

I really don't know. I don't know where I'm going with this post, my mind keeps drifting off as I'm typing. So I am just going to publish it as it is now.

*Information regarding the website background has been outdated since March 2024.