10 July 2023

Slight YouTube Update

Writing another update here, not that there's much to really discuss in terms of the website. I spent a lot of time working on this site and adding a few of my very OCD pages earlier this year, but as many projects of mine go, I eventually burn out and pretty much give up working on them. As much as I think writing reviews for games and albums sounds like something I'd enjoy, I have reached the point where there's just too much that I'd have to write that I don't foresee myself actually fulfilling that project. I'll probably go through and condense those pages a bit, I doubt that many people are reading them anyways. They won't be deleted, but severely reduced or repurposed. I suppose it was a good experiment for the time to test out what I had learned for HTML, so it's not like it was all wasted.

I had my #1 fan Mo ask me when the new vid was coming last night. Fuck me, I wish it was tomorrow! New developments keep cropping up and I have to determine how to revise the script so I don't look like I don't know how to do my research. It's not a topic I expect to do well anyways, but you never know with the algorithm and what idiots it will sometimes pick up anyways (if you're reading this, don't worry, you're not an idiot). Not that I can't just ignore them, but I want to be able to read fun or constructive comments too without illiterate pricks flooding the same space. I also want there to be accuracy to an extent that I am comfortable saying certain things in the video without fear of getting something blown right back into my face, because some topics can seemingly get pretty divisive in its fanbase (I may just as well be overthinking things like usual). The script is about 60% complete overall and yes it's about an anime-based franchise, not a game or anything. If you know you know.

I have another script in its alpha stages about another anime that I feel has gone under-appreciated. Nothing but good things to say about that one, thankfully. It would be nice to get a brief interview with one of the key figures behind it, which I believe is possible despite the language barrier, but that also requires me to grow a pair and actually attempt to reach out. That one comes later, however. I'd also love to cover a few more games in the vain of my R-Type Delta video, such as the similar polygonal shmup G-Darius and some Saturn titles, but I understand that might not be what people are expecting from my channel. I know I should just make stuff that I want to make, but if interest declines anyways, I don't think the ratio of writing/editing to personal satisfaction warrants it. It's already taking me way too long on the current vid, so I hope at least a portion of my current subscribers will be interested when it releases. I apologize it's been so long.

For those who subbed mainly for my Mega Man videos, I am working on a short episodic project. I'll need to recruit some friends for collaborative work and voice acting though. I've got about 1/4 of the rough draft done for that, so it's really early on yet. It will obviously need work with feedback/additions from the other collaborators in order to make any of it "final" too, so don't expect it too soon. Maybe I'll have at least the first episode done by the end of the year, but who knows with my pace.

I personally have all the time in the world to work on this endless list of projects and I have no one to blame for inactivity other than myself. However, I feel that I really need to find some sort of stability in my life to efficiently use this "free-time." Until then, things will probably continue moving at a snail's pace out of the volatility of things. I get easily distracted too, but who on the internet doesn't have at least a sliver of undiagnosed ADHD?

Anyways, this is precious time I could be using to work on one of the things I mentioned above. Will I use it? Probably not.

Tschüß

* The Mega Man video project, as of March of 2024, has been on an indefinite hiatus due to a number of external factors. The concept/script may see its way to this site at some future date.